What You Need To Know: Eligibility For Concealed Weapons Permit in Florida

You may be wondering what you need to do in order to obtain your concealed weapons permit in Florida. We are here to answer a few of your questions.

concealed_weapons_permitWho is eligible to obtain their concealed weapons permit in Florida?

Anyone over the age of 21 who can demonstrate competency with a firearm.

What could possible prevent someone from obtaining their concealed weapons permit in Florida?

  • The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
  • A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
  • Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
  • A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
  • A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
  • A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
  • Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
  • Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
  • Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
  • Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
  • Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
  • A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
  • Being a fugitive from justice.

(FDACS www.freshfromflorida.com)

What is the process to obtain a concealed weapons permit?

The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services administers the concealed weapon license program. Florida law requires you to submit proof of competency with a firearm in order to qualify for a concealed weapon license. Various certification courses will provide you with a certificate of completion.

What happens if I’m arrested for possession of a firearm and I have a valid concealed weapons permit?

As long as the weapon is properly stored or carried, it should not be a problem. If you have been charged with a gun offense, whether a simple violation of permit laws or the use of a weapon to commit another crime, you want an experienced lawyer to protect your constitutional rights, someone who understands how these crimes are prosecuted, as well as the serious consequences of a conviction. Call the team at the Law Offices of Eric Reisinger for a FREE consultation todaySarasota 941-554-4992 or Ft. Myers 239-349-2992

What to do when you don’t pay your traffic ticket

speeding-ticket

Traffic tickets are an inconvenience, expense and a headache. The state of Florida could charge you up to $500 depending on how fast you were driving. Floridians have 30 days to pay or contest a traffic ticket. But everyone is busy and life gets in the way. Before you know it, 30 days have gone by and you have not paid that annoying ticket. If you don’t pay your traffic ticket, your driver’s license could be suspended indefinitely and in addition to the ticket cost, you would owe a reinstatement fee for your license. So, what should you do if you’re late on paying your ticket?

Consult with an experienced attorney to determine your next steps. If your driver’s license has been suspended, clearing up that issue is not easy. Eric and Brian have had experience in navigating the confusing waters of the Department of Motor Vehicles and can provide you with the best legal advice for your situation.

Why Can’t I go Home After I Have Been Arrested for Domestic Battery?

domestic_violenceIf you or a loved one has been arrested for a domestic battery or even a simple battery against someone who lives in your home with you, you are not allowed to return to the home. After being arrested for battery, you are taken to jail without a bond and have to wait to the see the judge the next morning. The Judge is required by law to give you a monetary bond (which means no supervised pre-trial released) and one of the conditions of your bonds will be that you are not allowed to return to your home where the victim lives. This condition will apply even if you own the home and the victim does not. You will not be allowed back unless the judge signs an order allowing you back to the home.This is very confusing and in some cases very unfair, which causes an extreme hardship on you and the entire family. This why it is extremely important that you or your loved one, that is caught up in this predicament, hire an experienced criminal attorney that knows how to handle domestic battery and battery cases. If you violate the Judge’s order, the Judge will revoke your bond and you will be rearrested and stay in jail without a bond until the case is completely done.

Your attorney will need to work quickly to either get a stipulation signed by the prosecutor or set a hearing in front of the Judge as soon as possible so that you may return to you home. This is important so you have an experienced attorney who works with the prosecutors and judges on a daily biases. The attorneys at the Law Office of Eric Reisinger are the experienced attorney’s you need to help you navigate the process and get you back home.